Customs House Museum Customs House Museum

 

Discover history at our Customs House Museum. A border customs point before Federation, this authentically restored building and its magnificent cottage garden, house a rich and colourful collection of mementos of yesteryear.

Around 1850, the Customs House was built on the northern bank of the Macintyre River, a modest three-room cottage with detached kitchen, a fire precaution of the day. Its shingled roof covered sturdy walls of pitsawn timber, morticed top and bottom into slots, a building technique which declined towards the end of the 19th century.

 

In its day the Customs House was used to collect the tax paid on goods crossing between Queensland and New South Wales. The Museum has well kept gardens and an impressive variety of books, journals and memorabilla from yesteryear.

While you're there don't forget to visit Martha's Cottage which was built in 1875 and now stands beside Customs House.

 

 

Open everyday from 10.00am to 4.00pm except Tuesdays.
McLean Street, Goondiwindi
Ph: (07) 4671 3041
Email:
goondiwindi.customshouse@gmail.com
Website:
www.customshouse.vze.com